Train Wreck

I have recently reached an important goal.  That goal was to get below 280lbs.  That is significant because that is the weight at which my Dr. told me I would fall below the MORBIDLY OBESE line.  I still have a lot of work to do but I think that it is important to reflect on the accomplishment and the struggle to get to this point today.  The following posts are from my now dormant MySpace account:

Monday, October 23, 2006 

  Weight loss
Current mood:   determined
Category: LifeI am planning on losing some weight and thought I would post weekly updates on my progress.  I hope to keep up with this so an occasional kick in the ass may be required.  I think that 220lbs would be a healthy weight for me but my short-term goal is 250.  My official weigh in for 10/23/2006 is 300lbs which is an all time high…

“I hope to keep up with this?”  I had failed in my mind before I had even started.   Read on…

  

Nov 20, 2006 Weight loss

11/20/2006 weigh in 296 down 1 lb.  I thought having to post my weight would make me make me work harder at losing… I find not so much.  I have a dark beer habit that may be affecting my progress.   I might have to get off my fat ass and exercise.  Quitting drinking isn’t going to happen… I’m no quitter.

Humor is one of my defense mechanisms obviously.

  

Oct 1, 2007 Weight loss 10/01/07 weigh in 300lbs.

Current mood:determined

O.k. I am going to lose some weight.  I tried to blog about it before and kept it up only a few weeks and got nowhere.I realize that I have to hold myself accountable and not put all of the pressure on you the readers of this blog.  Encouragement is encouraged but not required as I am doing this for myself and my family.  The doctor says I am Morbidly Obese.  I have to get to 280lbs. to drop below that line.

Ruh Ro.

  

Oct 16, 2007 10/16/2007 Weigh in 300 lbs no change

Current mood:enraged

Frustrated…I did walk this morning though.

Oct 29, 2007 10/29/2007 weigh in 295 lbs. loss of 3

Current mood:happy

No drinking this week another 3 lbs lost. Must be a coincidence…

Nov 12, 2007 11/12/2007 weigh in 295 no change

Current mood:sick

No weight loss this week.  I am going to step up the exercise regimen.  The cold weather has stopped me from walking w/ Jack so I’m considering joining the gym.  My Dr. appointment went well. He said I had lost 6 lbs and my BP went from 140/90 to 128/90.

Jan 7, 2008 Weigh in (late to post) 295 up 1 lb.

295 lbs. I am starting Jill’s crazy diet today, which is based on Dr. Phil’s rapid start diet from before he sold out and became Springer.

Jan 28, 2008 weigh in 283 down 3

Current mood:optimistic

3 more lbs. to go and I won’t be morbidly obese anymore.  My Dr.’s appointment is tomorrow.  Hopefully my triglycerides will be lower.

Feb 7, 2008 weigh in 282lbs loss of 1

Lost one which is great considering I have had some beer over the weekend and all.

TWO LBS away from the goal…Did I make it?  Nope.

Apr 28, 2008 Weigh in 291 lbs.

Current mood:sore

O.k. I have been slacking off lately diet and exercise wise.  I have gained 8 lbs. back since my last post as a result.  I am back on the wagon though.  I purchased and set up a new elliptical machine last night.  I did 20 minutes this morning which about killed me.  In fact I had to stop at 2 points in that 20 minutes.  By next week I am confident I will be able to go the full 20 with no breaks.

Anyone detecting a pattern?

  

Weigh in 299

Current mood:sore

I hope to stick to my exercise routine this time.  I need to get my weight and blood pressure down.  I guess if it were easy we all would look like Michael Phelps.  20 minutes on the elliptical this morning…

weigh in 301.4 lbs

Current mood:aggravated

Yikes!  I seem to be going the wrong direction.

Well, that was painful to read huh?  December 1st I weighed in at my office at 308.  We started a Biggest Loser contest and I am now below 280.  I will be 250 or below by April 4th.  I guess the contest encouraged me because I am competitive but I am now on board the weight loss train.  There is a veggie tray in the Club Car if you care to join me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, weight loss and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Train Wreck

  1. Jen says:

    Great job, Dave!!!! We’re so proud of you! Way to stick with it. You’re looking great and I’m sure you’re feeling great too. Keep up the good work!

  2. Shannon says:

    Great work, Dave! Totally interesting post. I can absolutely relate. I am back to counting calories, using livestrong.com, and trying to work out at least 5 times per week. Two days in a row so far…

Leave a comment